A message about COVID-19. View Here.

Jamie Mitchell

  • Date of Birth:11/6/1976
  • Hometown: Coolangatta, Australia

  • Jamie Mitchell might be more comfortable in water than he is on land. He’s won the Molokai Paddle Race ten times. It’s a race that’s as prestigious as it is rigorous - which is saying a lot, because it consists of 32-miles of open ocean. Actually, he’s won pretty much every major paddling race in the world. He’s used his fitness and aptitude for water to become one of the best big wave surfers in the world. He’s so fearless because he’s so comfortable, which lead him to the podium at the first ever BWWT event at Nazare in 2016. The conditions were wild and dangerous. Just the way Jamie likes it.



Bruce Brown’s 1966 hit The Endless Summer is an unforgettable film about the serendipity, joy and easygoing kicks of life on the road with a surfboard and some friends. It is also a lie.

Or at least the title is. While The Endless Summer is a great representation of our culture, the reality is that surfers actually chase winter. In almost every major surf destination around the world, winter is the prime season of surf. So, really, we’re out there pursuing an endless winter. The goal is to just make it feel like summer.

So, with the Northern Hemisphere winter in full swing, we wanted to share some of the season’s finer moments with you.

Jamie Mitchell- Mavs. Shot by Tony Canadas

Reef McIntosh and Kael Walsh, Himalayas.

The common thread? Our Highline AirLift vest, an innovative safety tool for big wave surfing. Every photo you see here features one of our riders wearing an AirLift — it’s pretty much the outfit of the winter.

Skill. Commitment. A little bit of luck, and a whole lot of flare. That's what it takes to win a Big Wave World Tour event. And that's exactly what Jamie Mitchell did today at Nazaré. Photo Credit @ricarbravo

The waves at the Portuguese phenomenon were huge. Scary huge. Psycho huge. Huge enough to shatter records and earn the wide-eyed attention and elevated heart rates of the entire world. In other words, they were the type of conditions Jamie thrives in.

The Quiksilver Waterman won every heat he surfed and finished way ahead of the pack in the final. Yet he was still, of course, gracious and humble about it all. He mostly just seemed to feel fortunate to be part of a historic day for surfing - especially because everybody actually survived.

That said, survival seemed to taste a little sweeter when it's served with a tall glass of champagne. Congrats to Jamie, and to everyone who competed!

The opening ceremony for the Quiksilver In Memory Of Eddie Aikau Big Wave Invitational is one of surfing’s grandest gatherings. The best big wave riders in the world all converge at Waimea Bay. They come with boards, they come with respect, and they take part in native ceremonies there in the sacred sand. Eventually, they paddle out and form a prayer circle in the lineup — silhouettes of superheroes shadow off into sea as the sun melts into the Pacific. It really is something.

This winter, big wave riding celebrates a special milestone with the 30th annual Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau at Waimea Bay, on the North Shore of Oahu, Hawaii. Quiksilver is pleased to announce the list of official 2014/15 Invitees and Alternates on this very special occasion.


Aaron Gold, Bruce Irons, Clyde Aikau, Dave Wassel, Garrett Mcnamara, Grant Baker, Greg Long, Ian Walsh, Jamie Mitchell, Jamie O'brien, Jamie Sterling, John John Florence, Kala Alexander, Kelly Slater, Kohl Christensen, Makua Rothman, Mark Healey, Nathan Fletcher, Noah Johnson, Peter Mel, Reef Mcintosh, Ramon Navarro, Shane Dorian, Sunny Garcia, Ross Clarke-jones, Takayuki Wakita ,Tom Carroll and Jeremy Flores


Mason Ho, Koa Rothman, Kalani Chapman, Danilo Couto, Billy Kemper, Anthony Tashnick, Carlos Burle, Albee Layer Ross, Williams Ben Wilkinson, Danny Fuller, Kealii Mamala, Michael Ho, Kai Lenny, Shawn Dollar, Gabriel Villaran, Evan Valiere, Kahea Hart, Keoni Watson, Derek Dunfee, Koby Abberton, Mark Mathews, Alex Gray and Laurie Towner.


Donnie Solomon, Andy Irons, Mark Foo, Marvin Foster, Ronnie Burns, Ricky Grigg ,Jay Moriarity, Lester Falatea, Mel Kinney, Peter Davi, Sion Milosky and Tiger Espere

Event format:

The Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau is a one-day big wave riding event that only takes place if and when waves meet a 20-foot minimum height, during the holding period of December 1 through February 28, each Hawaiian winter. The official Opening Ceremony with the Aikau Family will be held on Thursday, December 4th, 3pm, at Waimea Bay.

"The Eddie" is the original big wave riding event and stands as the measure for every big wave event that exists in the world today. It has become an iconic event through its honor, integrity and rarity.

The event honors Hawaiian hero Eddie Aikau, whose legacy is the respect he held for the ocean; his concern for the safety of all who entered it on his watch; and the way with which he rode Waimea Bay on its most giant and memorable days.

Adherence to strict wave height standards has ensured the integrity of the event; it is only held on days when waves meet or exceed the Hawaiian 20-foot minimum (wave face heights of approximately 40 feet). This was the threshold at which Eddie enjoyed to ride the Bay. It has been said that what makes The Eddie special is the times it doesn't run, because that is precisely its guarantee of integrity and quality days of giant surf.

The competition has only been held a total of 8 times: it's inaugural year at Sunset Beach, and then seven more times at its permanent home of Waimea Bay. The Eddie was last held on December 9, 2009, won by California's Greg Long.

Regardless of whether "The Bay Calls The Day" and the event runs, the annual Opening Ceremony is considered the annual celebration of Aikau's legacy as well as that of the sport of big wave riding, and is attended by the who's who of the surfing world. We hope you can join this year's Invitees, Alternates, and the Quiksilver & Aikau families.

Past Winners:

1985/1986 : Denton Miyamura (Haw)

1986/1987 : Clyde Aikau (Haw)

1989/1990 : Keone Downing (Haw)

1998/1999 : Noah Johnson (Haw)

2000/2001 : Ross Clarke-Jones (Aus)

2001/2002 : Kelly Slater (USA)

2004/2005 : Bruce Irons (Haw)

2009/2010 : Greg Long (USA)

About Eddie Aikau:

Just 31 years of age when he was lost at sea during an ill-fated voyage of Hawaii's Hokule'a double-hull sailing canoe in 1978, Aikau was a young man at the height of a career equally dedicated to big-wave riding and lifeguarding at historic Waimea Bay. Filled with a pure passion to ride giant surf, take care of his fellow man, and uphold his Hawaiian culture and family values, Aikau became the benchmark by which all big wave riders are measured.

Quik team has taken out 2 of the 3 categories. Jamie Mitchell won the biggest paddle-in award with a gem at Cow Reef
Tyler Holmer-Cross won the biggest Slab award amongst the hundred entries from a crazy Shipsterns Bluff session